Chapter 2 – ‘erm, how do I lose weight?!’

This is the biggest question I had in my mind when I started this new lifestyle in January. How do I lose my weight? It’s a simple basic theory that I had to tell myself; eat well and exercise. The idea of fad diets and cool titled diets did not entice me this time round as I’ve tried, and like many, failed before. Shall I do the ‘South Beach Diet’? Have I ever been there? No. Do I like the beach? Not particularly. So why do it? The word ‘diet’ has been abused for years. It’s simple definition is the kind of foods you eat on a daily basis. You can choose to eat pizza all day or chicken and veg all day. That’s your diet. It’s up to you to choose the right one. I personally don’t like calling it a diet. I’m not dieting, I’m changing my lifestyle. 

“Health requires healthy foods”

The simple truth is: burn more calories than the calories you stuff in your mouth. It took me a while to come to this realisation and when i finally clocked on, a quiet peace entered my mind. The more complicated it sounds the harder it’ll probably be. Do it for yourself and no one else. Tailor your own lifestyle from research and take your time with it. At this stage in my life I don’t allow cheat days – just cheat meals. Even my cheat meals are as healthy as they can be. [there will be a chapter on cheat meals FYI] I know within myself that if I cheat more than once a week I’ll pay for it later. The little fat man in your head is saying ‘one donut won’t hurt’. It does and it will. I have to run further to burn it off so why make it harder for myself? 

“The only bad workout is the one you didn’t do”

I always had an excuse for why I didn’t want to exercise. There are 24 hours in a day. 7 are for sleep, 7 for your partner/wife and the 10 left are mine/yours. Exercise requires an hour and (when I was a lazy slob on the sofa putting garbage in my piehole) I couldn’t be bothered. 60 mins of sweating over 60 mins of Fifa. The day I started is the day i needed. I felt stupid for not asserting myself with this before. I’d go for 3 weeks then revert back to my old ways.You can’t really describe the rush you get when you can actually see weight dropping off unless you’ve been through it. It’s glorious and I can’t wait to live like this for the rest of my life or ultimately, fall off and descend into a greasy whirlpool of KFC buckets for one and Dr Pepper engaging my taste buds with its caramel, sugary goodness. 

Having said that…
It’s changing my life and although this marathon (probably about 2 miles in) has a long way to go, I’ll feel better for it at the end. And not fat. Fat can burn in hell. 
Peace out. 

Leave a Reply

